Follow-up

The certification of June 2015 was awarded on the following condition:

“The University of Vienna establishes a process which allows to identify the examination types using the quality assurance system."

A working group, led by the Vice-Rector for Educational Affairs, was set up to ensure that the University fulfils this condition (parties involved: Studienpräses, vice-deans, directorates of studies, students, Center for Teaching and Learning, Unit for Quality Assurance).

The working group discussed the condition and the additional recommendations specified in the audit report, and developed a series of measures. The Rectorate discussed and accepted the working group’s proposals. As of the winter semester of 2017/18, the following measures will be implemented:

  • Feedback policy of the University of Vienna The feedback policy includes principles of feedback and defines expectations of teaching staff and students. In addition, it provides examples of valuable feedback. The Center for Teaching and Learning offers assistance for teaching staff (https://ctl.univie.ac.at/feedback-policy/).
  • Surveys on examinations: As of the winter semester of 2017/18, course evaluations will include questions about examinations. The working group developed specific types of pilot surveys that were already tested in different degree programmes. They are either designed as specific surveys on examinations (these surveys will be conducted after the examinations period), or as part of the usual programme surveys. The relevant directorates of studies and the Unit for Quality Assurance jointly carry out these surveys.
  • Preparation of data on examinations: Data on examinations were compiled to provide the directorates of studies with basic information about examinations at the University. This information forms the basis for discussions of the studies conference and dean’s offices and can be a starting point for measures. As of the summer semester of 2018, the directorates of studies will be able to access these data via the management information system (MIS).

The University of Vienna presented the above-mentioned measures to the aaq agency. On this basis, the Accreditation Council confirmed on 16 June 2017 that the University of Vienna has fulfilled the condition specified in the audit report. The re-audit of the University of Vienna’s quality assurance system, which has to be carried out by June 2022, will assess whether the implemented measures have proven to be effective.

Contact

Dr. Michael Hofer

T: +43-1-4277-18010
michael.hofer@univie.ac.at

Dipl.-Pol. Jürgen Roth

T: +43-1-4277-18005
juergen.roth@univie.ac.at

Follow-up

Die Zertifizierung im Juni 2015 wurde mit folgender Auflage verbunden:

„Die Universität Wien entwickelt einen Prozess, mit welchem die Prüfungsformen vom Qualitätssicherungssystem erfasst werden können.

Zur Bearbeitung dieser Auflage wurde eine Arbeitsgruppe unter der Leitung der Vizerektorin für Studium und Lehre eingesetzt (Beteiligte: Studienpräses, VizedekanInnen, Studienprogrammleitungen, Studierende, Center for Teaching and Learning, Besondere Einrichtung für Qualitätssicherung).

Die Arbeitsgruppe hat über die Auflage und die weiteren Empfehlungen des Auditberichts beraten und Maßnahmen erarbeitet. Die Vorschläge der AG wurden im Rektorat beraten und beschlossen. Ab dem Wintersemester 2017/18 werden folgende Vorhaben umgesetzt:

  • Feedback-Policy der Universität Wien: Die Policy enthält Prinzipien für Feedback und formuliert Erwartungen an Lehrende und Studierende. Außerdem werden Beispiele für gelungenes Feedback gegeben. Das Center for Teaching and Learning bietet hierzu Unterstützung für Lehrende an (https://ctl.univie.ac.at/feedback-policy/).
  • Befragungen zum Prüfungsgeschehen: In die Lehrveranstaltungsevaluation werden ab WS 2017/18 Fragen zum Prüfungsgeschehen integriert. Entwickelt und bereits in Pilotstudien mit verschiedenen Studienprogrammen erprobt wurden außerdem Formate zur spezifischen Befragung zum Prüfungsgeschehen im Anschluss an den Prüfungszeitraum sowie Fragen zum Prüfungsgeschehen als ein Element von Erhebungen zum Studienprogramm insgesamt. Diese Befragungen werden in Kooperation von SPL und Qualitätssicherung durchgeführt.
  • Datenaufbereitungen zum Prüfungsgeschehen: Es wurden Zusammenstellungen prüfungsbezogener Daten entwickelt, mit denen die Studienprogrammleitungen grundlegende Informationen zum Prüfungsgeschehen erhalten. Diese Informationen sollen als Grundlage für Beratungen in Studienkonferenz und Dekanat dienen, sie können zugleich Ausgangspunkt für Maßnahmen sein. Diese Datenaufbereitungen sollen ab SS 2018 über das Management-Informationssystem (MIS) für die SPL bereitgestellt werden.

Diese Maßnahmen wurden der Agentur aaq vorgelegt, der Schweizerische Akkreditierungsrat hat auf dieser Grundlage am 16. Juni 2017 die Erfüllung der Auflage bestätigt. Die Wirksamkeit dieser Aktivitäten wird im Zuge der Re-Auditierung des Qualitätssicherungssystems der Universität Wien überprüft, die bis Juni 2022 erfolgen muss.

Kontakt

Dr. Michael Hofer

T: +43-1-4277-18010
michael.hofer@univie.ac.at

Dipl.-Pol. Jürgen Roth

T: +43-1-4277-18005
juergen.roth@univie.ac.at